top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelucya1983

Welcome back! 3 years on and a whole lot has changed…

This blog was an incredible outlet for me as a student-teacher. Beginning as a journaling tool during my challenging final year of my teaching degree and transforming into an evidence log throughout my Master’s, it served me well as a way to clear my head and chronicle my memories.

Three, almost four years on and I am now a year 4 teacher at an inner-city primary school in London. Yes London! I made the big move from Wales to London, to be closer to friends and to have more varied opportunities. Whilst Covid reallt put the dampeners on my NQT year (I had to extend it by one term 🤦🏻‍♀️), the opportunity for growth both personally as professionally was immense. Quickly becoming a hybrid teacher and adapting to online live teaching, with even those mentoring somewhat in the dark, was no easy feat! Nonetheless, despite it being a baptism of fire 🔥 into the world of teaching, I relished the opportunity to slow down and really take stock of things for the first time in what seemed like forever! (In reality, since about 2015 😝)


Whilst some people were able to capitalise on lockdown to bond with family, practise new hobbies or skills or focus on being more mindful, for so many it was a time of great pain, loss and isolation. Including children. I would call and check in with them often, but with so many challenges and pressures placed upon both teachers and children on return to in-person teaching and learning, the struggle has been REAL!


During this current holiday period, I’ve really had the chance to reflect on my own sense of well-being and have tried to make mindful adjustments, to make an already hectic job more manageable going forward. However, there’s a whole minefield of ideas, strategies and tips out there and honestly, it’s bloody overwhelming! Since when did trying to de-stress become so stressful? Geez!

With this in mind, and with an unknowing nudge from the wonderful @sorchacoyle _eet from Empowering Expat Teachers (amazing group and content btw!), I set about thinking of ways to re-ignite my blog to use it as a way to explore my passion for improving #childandteacherwellbeing and overall #mentalhealth. The aim being to research, review and give you lovelies impartial feedback on this plethora of “helpful” tips and hints that are out there to promote wellbeing in the #classroom


Watch this space for my first article coming soon and please follow me for updates on IG @MissReynoldsLDN

I’ve also set up a Facebook community (link below) for teachers and school staff to join, where we can share experiences, resources and ideas for positive mental health in schools and at home. #sharingiscaring and all that jazz 👏


https://www.facebook.com/groups/407763921172585/

In the meantime, take care of yourselves and remember…life will not end if your “to do” list has one more thing on it than you’d like tomorrow morning!

Lucy x




19 views0 comments
bottom of page